• Vail Avenue, 133-135 South

    The home at 135 South Vail is a one story frame house built in 1928, as was its similar neighbor home at 133 South Vail. William Neitzel, who worked for the Arlington Seating Company, lived there in 1…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 207 South

    This brick home was built about 1924. In 1930, it was occupied by Paul F. Neumann, who worked for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, his wife Clara and two children; also by Dallas Nofsinger and Leo…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 9 to 21 North

    The commercial building at 9 North Vail Avenue was built about 1988. It is located on what had been part of the Redeker homestead which was razed in 1966. On the corner to the left, the building with…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 230 South

    Built of frame about 1923, this was home in 1930 to Mrs. Henry (Sophia) Kirchhoff. In 1935, it was occupied by William Zimmer, a salesman, his wife Pearl, and 2 children. From 1939 to at least 1943, S…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 210 South

    This brick home was built in 1929 and in 1930 and 1935, it was home to William F. Neumann, a barber, his wife, Dorothy, and one child. In 1939, Louis Clark, a towerman for the Chicago and Northwestern…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 130 South

    Built in 1923, this frame house was home in 1930 to Frank Lovitch, a teamster, his wife Marie and 2 children and, from 1935 to at least 1943, to Frank Samuelovitch (also spelled Samulovitsch), who wor…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 404 North

    Across Fremont Avenue from the Arlington Heights Historical Society property this property is now part of a commuter parking lot. For a few years, this structure housed the Countryside Art Center. Thi…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 35 South

    This house, which was at the corner of Sigwalt Street and Vail Avenue, was built about 1869 by the Schulenburg family. At the time of the great Chicago fire of 1871, refugees were housed here and in o…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, North

    This photo take in 2002 shows the east side of Vail Avenue, just north of Campbell Street. This item is part of the collection of the Arlington Heights Historical Society (http://www.ahmuseum.org).

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 20 North

    The house had various residents: in 1930, Adam and Elizabeth Lukhaupt lived there; in 1939, Mrs. Anna Tegtmeyer, her children Lillian and Elmer, one grandchild and Albert Luehring; and, in 1943, Franc…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 203 North - Volz Home

    Christian Volz, who had been trained in Germany as a cabinet-maker, built this home in three years in the late 1860s. Christian Volz bought out Mr. Schwendt, a furniture dealer in business at the Gies…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 735 North

    Built about 1926, originally this was the home of Albert Laseke and his five children. In 1935, he lived there with his daughters, Viola and Mildred. Albert worked at Heller Lumber Company. In 1939, A…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 132 South

    This two story stucco home was built in 1930 and first occupied by Richard Boeger, a carpenter, his wife Pearl and one child. In 1935, it was home to John Intravartolo, of Arlington Club Beverages, hi…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 307 North

    From 1930 to 1935, this was the residence of Frank and Rose Krulish and James and Mary Krulish. Frank, Rose and James lived there until at least 1943. The house was razed in 1992 and is now parking fo…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 209 South

    Built about 1923, this one story frame home was occupied in 1930 and 1935 by Martin Stoppel, a bricklayer, his wife, Gesella, with son, Alex, and one other child. In 1939 and 1943, Charles Roeske of t…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 821 North

    This house was built about 1930. The first residents were Paul and Clara Hoffman and their two children. Paul was a machinist. From 1939 to at least 1943, Charles F. and Marion Bloecker and two childr…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 133 South

    Built in 1928, this one story frame home was occupied from 1935 to 1943, by Paul Muller, a janitor, his wife Louisa, and 2 children. A similar home is next door at 135 South Vail. This item is part of…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 701 North

    This home was built about 1946. This item is part of the collection of the Arlington Heights Historical Society (http://www.ahmuseum.org).

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 116 South

    Built in 1916, this two story frame home was owned by William S. and Mary Garms family for many years, at least from 1930-1939. William was retired. Irvin Garms, his wife Dorothy and their one child l…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Vail Avenue, 214 North - Sutherland Home

    This home was probably built in the late 1860s. By 1909, it was the residence of William W. Guild. In 1930, George (a barber) and Emma Weisgerber lived there along with Emanuel (Arlington Park employe…

    View Full Item  in Arlington Heights Memorial Library
123Next