• University of Illinois Stock Pavilion, Urbana, Illinois

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    1402 with Pennsylvania Avenue, Urbana. Designed by state architect, William Carbys Zimmerman, and constructed by English Brothers, it was completed in 1914. The form of the building is a rectangular c…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Digital Computer Laboratory addition, University of Illinois

    Complete in 1990, the new addition to the Digital Computer Laboratory provides room for instructional and research laboratories. Urban Treasure Hunt 18 Social Systems 16 History

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Urbana High School, Urbana, Illinois

    Urbana High School, 1002 South Race Street, Urbana. 1966 marked the 50th year for the Urbana High School, still in use today. Built in 1916, the three-story building was designed in the Gothic Revival…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Batavia Institute

    A circular entitled "Batavia Institute" advertising the faculty, academic courses, and cost of attending the school in Batavia, Illinois. E. P. Scott was the Principal. This circular was printed by Wi…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • High School, Champaign, Illinois

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    306 W. Green St., Champaign. This new Champaign High School, designed by Spencer and Temple, to accommodate a thousand students, included a large auditorium, gymnasium, and pool. It opened in October…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Lecture on temperance leaflet

    A leaflet advertising the "lecture on temperance on Wednesday night" at the Methodist Church circa 1850s.

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Cunningham Orphanage, Urbana, Illinois

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    1301 N. Cunningham Ave., Urbana. Judge Joseph O. Cunningham and his wife, Mary, gave their large home and fifteen acres to the women of the Urbana Methodist Episcopal Church to be used as an orphanage…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • University of Illinois Law Building (Harker Hall), Urbana, Illinois

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    1304 W. Green Street, Urbana. Harker Hall is also known as the Chemical Laboratory. In 1986, the building was added to the National Register of Historic Places. Nathan Clifford Ricker designed this bu…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Resolutions of the General Assembly of Illinois to the establishment of Industrial Universities and for the encouragement of Practical and General Edu…

    Reynolds, John, Starne, Alexander

    A copy of a government document entitled "Resolutions of the General Assembly of the State of Illinois, relative to the establishment of Industrial Universities, and for the encouragement of Practical…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • M'Kendree College Commencement

    A program entitled "M'Kendree College Commencement" including orations, music, and prayer on Wednesday morning, July 16, 1851 in Lebanon, Illinois.

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • USO Club, southwest corner, Champaign, Illinois

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    USO Club, southwest corner, Randolph and Hill Sts., Champaign. During World War II this was a popular USO center for thousands of military personnel stationed at the UI and Chanute Field. It was erect…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Public Exhibition by the Pupils of the Atlanta Public School

    A program entitled "Public Exhibition by the Pupils of the Atlanta Public School" presented on Thursday Evening, Dec. 23, 1858 including music and prayer. This program was published by the "Democrat a…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • University of Illinois Architecture Building

    Illinois Heritage Association, Miller, Patricia L

    608 E. Lorado Taft Drive, Champaign. An apple orchard set out by Prof. J.C. Blair in 1897 was removed to erect this building. Completed in 1928, the building included space for classes in fine arts an…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Order of Exercises at the Anniversary of Monticello Female Seminary

    A program entitled "Order of Exercises at the Anniversary of Monticello Female Seminary" held on Wednesday, June 25th, 1851. This event included orations, music, and prayer. The program was printed by…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Digital Computer, 'electronic brain' at the University of Illinois

    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

    In five hours [the ILLIAC] can complete problems which would take the working lifetime of a skilled mathematician. Shown working with it are Miss Ramona J. Russell, computer operator, and Jack O. Neuh…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Emily Babbott school teacher's certificate

    Jenkins, W. B

    A "School Teacher's Certificate" awarded to Emily A. Babbott by W. B. Jenkins, School Commissioner of Warren County. This certificate was printed by Smith's Print in Monmouth, Illinois and dated July…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Taft and Van Doren Residence Halls, University of Illinois

    Taft and Van Doren Residence Halls, Northwest Corner, Fourth Street and Peabody Drive, University of Illinois, Champaign. Urban Treasure Hunt 18 Social Systems 16 History

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Edison Middle School, Champaign, Illinois

    Mike Marassa, Edison Middle School, Champaign, Illinois

    Champaign High school was located at 306 W. Green St. for 42 years (opened in 1914) until 1957, when it became Edison Junior High. The building’s architectural style is described as “Imposing Greek” b…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • McLean County Map in Corn Exhibit

    Walters, William D, Jr., 1942, McLean County Historical Society, Bloomington, Ill

    A map of McLean County sits in the middle of a corn school exhibit at a December 17, 1909, Teacher's Institute in Normal, Illinois. By 1895, agriculture had been added to the courses of reading, writi…

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Declamation Prize Exhibition of The Sophomore Class of Illinois College

    Illinois College

    A program entitled "Declamation Prize Exhibition of The Sophomore Class of Illinois College" including music and prayer. This event occurred in Jacksonville, Illinois on December 22, 1857.

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
1235Next