• Lehman Building. Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    This building was built at 405 Main Street in 1916. Building was named after Arthur Lehman. The building was burned down in the early 1990s. In 1993, Becker Construction built Becker Building at this…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Bradley Polytechnic Institute. Peoria, Ill.

    J. Murray Jordan, Publisher

    Founded in 1896 by Lydia Moss Bradley. Ground was broken in 1897 on 17.5 acres and two halls were built: Horology Hall on the left (later renamed Westlake), and Bradley Hall on the right. Both buildin…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Levee Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Dedicated on June 12, 1915 Levee Park was a steamboat landing. It covered 10 acres of the Peoria Lake, two blocks south of the court house. Later it was renamed Eckwood Park in honor of former Mayor E…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Fountain in Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    This fountain was probably located near the Palm House in Glen Oak Park.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Scene Near Peoria, Ill.

    Man and girl on a wagon pulled by two oxen with harvested corn in the back.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Ingersoll Monument, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    Lower entrance to park, off of Abington Street. Statue is by artist Fritz Triebel and was unveiled in 1911. Robert Green Ingersoll 1833-1899 came to Peoria to practice law in 1857, but is best remembe…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Union Congregational Church, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Began in 1884 as a Sabbath school and expanded in 1885 & 87. Became Union Congregational Church in 1893, located at Illinois & Dechman Avenues. A new church was built in 1917 at 1904 Knoxville Ave.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Wading Pool and Japanese Garden, Laura Bradley Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Laura Bradley Park is located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St.). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. This view is of the…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Block & Kuhl Co., Formerly Schipper & Block. The Greater Big White Store, Peoria, ILL.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    Corner of 124 South West Adams and Fulton. This building was formerly for Schipper and Block from 1905 to 1914. Block and Kuhl opened on March 17, 1914. Currently this loction is for Chase Bank buildi…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • White School, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    Located at 300 East Illinois Avenue. Original construction was in 1868 as Peoria County Normal School. In 1882 It was named for Samuel H. White the first principal. It was still in use in 2006.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Union Depot, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    In 1882 Union Station opened at the foot of State Street. The brick, two-story building, measuring 404 feet by 55 feet. The rail hub was the fourth largest in the U.S. In 1963, the building was destro…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Scene Near Peoria, Ill.

    A man fishing from a boat on the Illinois River.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 13505 Squirrel House, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    F. M. Kirby & Co

    Built in 1905 and originally named The Squirrel House, it is commonly known as The Monkey House. It is located across from the Pavilion.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 2684 Proctor Endowment Home, Peoria, Ill.

    Pearson Ullberg Co

    This facility located at 1301 NW Glendale Ave, began use in 1906, as a life-care retirement center. It was founded by Peoria philanthropist John C. Proctor. In 1976 they moved to a new facility on Res…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 13506 Grape Vine Walk, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    F. M. Kirby & Co

    Grape Vine walking path in Glen Oak Park.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Soldier's Monument, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    View of the Soldiers Monument (WWI) from Main St NE to the 100 block of North Adams. Hotel Mayer is on the corner of Adams and Hamilton (where trolley car is located in photo).

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • View on Country Club Golf Links, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    This private golf course was founded in 1897 on 27 acres overlooking the Illinois River. The location is 4700 North Grandview Drive in Peoria Heights. VIEW ON COUNTRY CLUB GOLF LINKS. PEORIA ILL

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 4720 Scene in South Park, Peoria, Ill.

    United Postal Co., Publishers

    This park is one of the four original parks in the Peoria Park District system in 1894. It was designed by W.W. Maloney, who also did much of the work turning it from a pasture to a park. The pavilion…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Water Works, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Located at N E Adams and Lorentz Sts. (now 100 Lorentz Ave). Built in 1890, it is currently still standing.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Fountain at Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    unknown

    Glen Oak Park was designed by gardener Oscar F. Dubuis and dedicated in 1896. This fountain was located near an overlook in Glen Oak Park.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
123...10Next