• Deaconess Hospital, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Deaconess Home & Hospital began in 1898 at 221 North Glen Oak Avenue, a red brick house purchased from Lydia Moss Bradley. In 1910 a new building was erected which was 5 stories, 62'x75' in Renaissanc…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Corning Distillery, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Located at Krause & Western Ave from 1880 until 1918. It was the location of several deadly fires, most notably in Oct 1903 and June of 1904.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • New High School, Peoria, Ill.

    C. T. American Art

    Built in 1916, this is the present location of Peoria High School at 1615 N. North St. between Michigan Ave. and Richmond Ave.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 2682 Cottage Hospital, Peoria, Ill. (Handwritten on card: Second and Fisher St.)

    Pearson Ullberg Co

    In 1883 the Peoria Hospital Association acquired this residence at the corner of Second & Fisher. Two additions were added in 1902 bringing it to 110 beds. The principal benefactor John C. Proctor die…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Corning Distillery Fire: Peoria, Ill. April 3, 1908

    unknown

    View of the Corning Distillery fire on April 3, 1908. It was located at Krause & Western Ave from 1880 until 1918. It was the location of several deadly fires. Two previous to this one occurred in Oct…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Lincoln Manual Training School. Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    It was located at Lincoln & Shelley at 1500 West Lincoln. It was demolished in 1963.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Interior of the First National Bank. The Savings Bank of Peoria, ,Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    210-212 South Adams

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Greeley School, Peoria, Ill.

    C. R. Gibson, Peoria, Ill

    Located at the corner of NE Jefferson & Evans St., Greeley was a K-8 school built in 1912. There were additions in 1958-60. The building is still in use (2012).

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Home of Bohemian Export. Union Brewing Co. Peoria, Ill.

    unknown

    Originally founded as Lutz & Lincoln in 1869, the Union Brewery was operated by the Woolner family for many years. In 1896 this was one of the three principal breweries in Peoria. The building was raz…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Irving School, Peoria, Ill.

    Independent Five & Ten Cent Stores

    Originally opened in 1898 at 519 NE Glendale, it was designed by Peoria architects Wechselberger and Hewitt in Flemish Renaissance style. It was built of brick trimmed in Bedford sandstone with ironwo…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Pavilion, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Glen Oak Park is located at 2218 North Prospect Road. The original address was Abingdon & North Perry Ave. The Pavilion was build in 1895-96 at a cost of $24,000. The Architects were William Reeves an…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Webster School, Peoria. Ill.

    Independent Five & Ten Cent Stores

    Webster Grade School was located at 923 West Millman, opened in 1898 and closed in 1983. The third floor was removed in 1967. It was purchased by the Community Action Agency in 1987. It was still stan…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Jefferson Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    Located at the corner of Jefferson Ave and Liberty.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Coliseum, Peoria, Ill.

    Unknown

    Located at 515-531 NW Adams St. (Corner of Adams and Hancock St). It had a seating capacity of 7,000. It was erected in 1901 by the Peoria Railway Company and upon completion turned the title over to…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 1693 St. Francis Hospital, Peoria, Ill.

    Ill. Post Card Co., New York

    Originally established in 1876 by a group of Franciscan Sisters, St Francis Hospital was located at 530 NE Glen Oak Avenue. St Francis Healthcare now covers the area of 530-616 North Glen Oak Ave. The…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Hotel Fey, Peoria, Illinois 437 C. U. Williams, Photoette. Bloomington, Ill.

    C. U. Williams Bloomington, Illinois

    Built in 1885 this structure was originally a 4-story office building located on the northeast corner of Adams and Liberty. It was converted into a hotel in 1892 and used until 1935. It was razed in 1…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 4690 Horological Building, Bradley Polytechnical Institute, Peoria, Ill.

    United Postal Co., Publishers

    Founded in 1896 by Lydia Moss Bradley. Ground was broken in 1897 on 17.5 acres. Horology Hall (later renamed Westlake) was one of the two original buildings still in use. Bradley Polytechnical Institu…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Central National Bank Building. Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    101 South Adams (corner of Main & Adams). Designed by the architectural firm of D.W. Burnham in 1913-14. In 1978 it was added to the National Register of Historic Places.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 4703 Union Depot, Peoria, Ill.

    United Postal Co., Publishers

    In 1882, Union Station opened at the foot of State Street. It was a brick, two-story building, measuring 404 feet by 55 feet. The rail hub was the fourth largest in the U.S. In 1963, the building was…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • 4706 Mayer Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    United Postal Co., Publishers

    This 5 story brick hotel was built by David Mayer in 1907 at 200 NE Adams St. at the corner with Hamilton St. It was sold to two Chicago owners in 1955. On February 14, 1963 it burned to the ground wi…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library