• Greeley School, Peoria, Ill.

    C. R. Gibson, Peoria, Ill

    Located at the corner of NE Jefferson & Evans St., Greeley was a K-8 school built in 1912. There were additions in 1958-60. The building is still in use (2012).

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Howard Strube at International Harvester Fire

    Canton Fire Department

    One month before his death on September 7, 1997, Firefighter Howard Strube was photographed during firefighting operations at the former International Harvester plant in Canton, Illinois.

    View Full Item  in Illinois Fire Service Institute
  • Lehman Building. Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co. Peoria Ill

    This building was built at 405 Main Street in 1916. Building was named after Arthur Lehman. The building was burned down in the early 1990s. In 1993, Becker Construction built Becker Building at this…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Clifford Wyles Gravesite

    Marty Baker

    This photograph shows the gravesite of Clifford Wyles at Springdale Cemetery in Peoria, Illinois.

    View Full Item  in Illinois Fire Service Institute
  • Peoria Fire

    Bluemke, Milton E

    Disasters; Hiram Walker Distillery fire, 1935

    View Full Item  in McLean County Museum of History
  • Performers in Wardrobe

    St. Leon Troupe of acrobats. April 24, 1949.

    View Full Item  in Illinois State University
  • Westminster Presbyterian Church, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Built in 1898 at 1420 West Moss Ave. Burned in Feb 1985 & razed in September of that year. New church was erected at the same location.

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Howard Strube and Canton Fire Department visitor

    Canton Fire Department

    During his two years with the Canton Fire Department, Howard Strube enjoyed teaching fire safety to school groups during their visits to the fire station.

    View Full Item  in Illinois Fire Service Institute
  • Peoria, Upper Free Bridge

    Schipper and Block

    View of the Illinois River and the Upper Free Bridge. The north side was located near the Peoria Waterworks Park at the foot of Lorentz Street. Bridge built by the Milwaukee Bridge Co. in 1888, condem…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Illinois River and water works from Grand View Drive, Peoria, Ill.

    Picture postcards Color postcard. Produced circa 1916. C.T. American art colored

    View Full Item  in Eastern Illinois University
  • Peoria Public Library

    Peoria Public Library, Peoria, Ill. Library Postcards Illinois

    View Full Item  in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
  • Bradley Polytechnic Institute. Peoria, Ill.

    J. Murray Jordan, Publisher

    Founded in 1896 by Lydia Moss Bradley. Ground was broken in 1897 on 17.5 acres and two halls were built: Horology Hall on the left (later renamed Westlake), and Bradley Hall on the right. Both buildin…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Performer With Horse

    Corky Cristiani in close-up with horse. April 26, 1947.

    View Full Item  in Illinois State University
  • Brian Hauk Gravesite, View 1

    Calvin Plumer

    This photograph shows the gravesite of Brian Hauk at Elmwood Cemetery in Elmwood, Illinois.

    View Full Item  in Illinois Fire Service Institute
  • Hayes, Wayne L.

    1951-1962 Illinois. Air National Guard

    View Full Item  in Illinois State Library
  • 4708 Niagara Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    United Postal Co., Publishers

    This hotel was built in early 1890's and was located at 108-110 SW Jefferson Avenue. It began as a three-story building in 1875, then in 1893 four more stories were added by William F. Becker. The bui…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Performers in Wardrobe

    Spec girls in soldier wardrobe. April 26, 1947.

    View Full Item  in Illinois State University
  • Country Club, Prospect Heights, Peoria, Ill.

    Sander Bros

    This tudor style building was the second club house, constructed in 1908. It was destroyed by fire around 1920. A third and present clubhouse was built in 1922. This private golf course was founded in…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Levee Park, Peoria, Ill.

    C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill

    Dedicated on June 12, 1915 Levee Park was a steamboat landing. It covered 10 acres of the Peoria Lake, two blocks south of the court house. Later it was renamed Eckwood Park in honor of former Mayor E…

    View Full Item  in Peoria Public Library
  • Steamer J. S., Peoria, Ill.

    Picture postcards Black-and-white postcard. Correspondence

    View Full Item  in Eastern Illinois University
123...33Next